2018 Young Writers Competition

For the third year we have partnered Battle Rotary for a Young Writers Competition.

Schools taking part were:- Battle Abbey, Vinehall, Claverham Community College, Bexhill Academy, St. Richards, Bexhill, and Robertsbridge.
Over 47 pieces of work were submitted covering Juniors, Intermediates and Seniors.
This year our Judges were Lisa Harmer-Pope who is an actress and author, Sue Barrell member of Battle Writers Group and a BBC competition judge, Jonny Magnanti Actor, director and author and Roy Chapman Chairman of Battle Writers Group and author.
3 Winners were chosen and at a prize giving ceremony held at Bexhill Academy Theatre held on Friday 16th March they were presented with their trophies and sets of books written by Jenny Hall a member of Battle Writers Group.  the heading this year was ‘A Different Perspective’ which was a very challenging heading both for the students and the judges.
The winners will now go on to the District and then hopefully National.

A friendly Battle-based Writers group.